Archive: Respect Magazine

As a Medill student, the pressure to get an internship right out of freshman year is, to say the least, big. With constant emails about upcoming job prospects, career fairs every few weeks, and super successful journalism students around all the time, you start to feel a little bit like a failure if you don’t have one.

So I jumped on the bandwagon and started searching around last December. Yeah, fall quarter wasn’t even over, and I was already searching for something to do in the summer.

After applying to over a dozen places, hearing back from a few, landing 2 internships and being denied one of them by Northwestern of all things (lame… sabotage…blah…), I ended up at Respect Magazine, where I was hired by a fellow Medill student.

The company is primarily a magazine (the June 2011 issue is the one featured above. Notice Eminem on the cover. Of course I’d end up at a place that loves Em :] ) that started last summer. They’ve only had seven issues so far, but it’s pretty developed.

I went in for my first day on Monday. Boy, was it long. I got in around 11, hung out and got trained/briefed/updated/taught for about 2 hours, and then just straight-blogged for about 4.5 hours.

There were four of us interns there, and we’re “in charge” of maintaining the blog. That was just one day’s crew. I think there are probably about 6 or 7 interns for the week. We basically scour the internet for hip hop news, artists, fashion, artwork, etc. and then either repost from other sites or take the information and create our own posts about them. The posts are rarely long, but they’re really interesting. I think over the course of that one day, we probably posted about 15 or so times. I’d consider it a success.

Anyway, now I’m officially on two blogs! Which feels really intense and accomplished. Check it out: http://www.respect-mag.com.

It’s a very professional site. I also like that it’s a more mature look at the hip hop world. We don’t focus on the gossip or silliness that goes on, but more so just the artful aspects of it. I’m hoping to do some more in-depth work there too… like interviewing up-and-coming artists or things like that.

Let me know if you have any ideas or suggestions 🙂

Leave a Reply

