Archive: The Detrimental Effects of Education

Okay, not really education… but college. I’ve noticed that in my time here, two things have happened.

1. I have NO IDEA what’s going on with the music industry. 

I mean, certain things come through… Like I have Lupe’s new album (and love it… I think I already posted about that), but that’s about it unless I actively try to find out what new music is out, which I’m normally too lazy to do.

Basically, I used to find out about all the new music from the radio. I have never been one to sit around and just play around on iTunes or YouTube to find new artists. If you introduce me to something alternative, chances are, I’ll love it, but I rarely find that stuff on my own. And I would listen to the radio in my car… so take away my car, and I’m totally lost.

This week, I decided to take initiative, so I went to iTunes and looked up each of the top 10 songs that I hadn’t known about. I felt so stupid when I discovered that Britney had new songs out other than just “Hold it against me” and JLo’s back!? Whatt? since when? Their songs are catchy – really stupid, but catchy. And it makes me sad that I’m no longer on top of things, because chances are, there are a whole bunch of better songs that just aren’t in the top 10 that I don’t know about. mehr.

Anyway, in my findings, I found Ke$ha’s video for “Blow.” AND IT IS SO WEIRD. If you haven’t seen it yet, check it out. At the beginning, you might just think it’s relatively normal (my friend Nick kept yelling at me, and saying that I’d falsely prepared him for something weird… Then we got to the end), but just hang in there. I promise, it gets strange:

The Detrimental Effects of Education
Okay, not really education… but college. I’ve noticed that in my time here, two things have happened.

1. I have NO IDEA what’s going on with the music industry.

I mean, certain things come through… Like I have Lupe’s new album (and love it… I think I already posted about that), but that’s about it unless I actively try to find out what new music is out, which I’m normally too lazy to do.

Basically, I used to find out about all the new music from the radio. I have never been one to sit around and just play around on iTunes or YouTube to find new artists. If you introduce me to something alternative, chances are, I’ll love it, but I rarely find that stuff on my own. And I would listen to the radio in my car… so take away my car, and I’m totally lost.

This week, I decided to take initiative, so I went to iTunes and looked up each of the top 10 songs that I hadn’t known about. I felt so stupid when I discovered that Britney had new songs out other than just “Hold it against me” and JLo’s back!? Whatt? since when? Their songs are catchy – really stupid, but catchy. And it makes me sad that I’m no longer on top of things, because chances are, there are a whole bunch of better songs that just aren’t in the top 10 that I don’t know about. mehr.

Anyway, in my findings, I found Ke$ha’s video for “Blow.” AND IT IS SO WEIRD. If you haven’t seen it yet, check it out. At the beginning, you might just think it’s relatively normal (my friend Nick kept yelling at me, and saying that I’d falsely prepared him for something weird… Then we got to the end), but just hang in there. I promise, it gets strange:

2. This might be something just going around in general, but communication is out of control here.

The other day, I was sitting in the lounge with my roommate, Naina, and a mutual friend – Paco. Naina and I were both skype chatting with Paco, and all three of us were skype chatting with our friend Sama, and we were also in a group chat together, and the three of us that were in the same room were having a verbal conversation with other people sitting there with us. I’m not even sure anyone else can follow that sentence… I barely can.

Either way, this is a normal occurrence for us. We sit around and talk about really deep stuff while also talking on Skype and commenting on Facebook posts and uploading pictures, and it’s JUST INSANITY.

It’s a wonder we have real relationships with each other at all after all that! I don’t know why we are so much more obsessed with technology now… I think it’s that we have our computers on us all the time, and all our work is on there, so there’s no reason to put them away – and then, naturally, we just gravitate to Facebook.

Or other sites… I just started going on Stumbleupon to see what that was all about. One day, and I’m hooked. This video I found on there is AMAZING. It’s this group performing to “Mad” by NeYo on So You Think You Can Dance, and it’s phenomenal. I love their face expressions in combination with their hip hop steps. I am amazed by how their style is interpretive and fits perfectly with the lyrics, but at the same time, the steps actually demand real talent and aren’t just stupid, overdramatic interpretive dance.

Amazing, right?

Leave a Reply

