Archive: Mooz-lum Review

I know… I went from posting like three times a day to not writing for a week. In my defense, let me just say the last week has been insane. I won’t go into details… that’s boring… but I’ve had no spare time. At all. But I have this post-it note on my desktop (actually I have like 11 post-its, but anyway…) that is dedicated specifically to blog post ideas. And the list is getting too long. And it’s stressing me out, so I figured it was time to write SOMETHING and shorten my list. (Why is it that even my procrastination techniques become stress factors?! Like Facebook notifications… they freak me out. I think last Friday was the last time I checked them. I’m up to 100 notifications. yippee…not.)

Anyway, I was supposed to write a review of that movie I saw last week!

Mooz-lum was great. It was really serious… at one point, I was tearing up, and I left the theater pretty morose, but regardless, the film was pretty good. It was an independent film, so I’m assuming they didn’t have too much money, and considering that, the cinematography was FANTASTIC. They had a lot of really cool shots, with interesting “blurring” and really nice angles.

The dialogue was very… meh, and some of the acting wasn’t so great either. There was one point where this kid decides to stand up for the Muslims (a group of kids were going to beat them up to “avenge” the people killed on 9/11), and his dialogue was just very… I don’t know, cliche, and it wasn’t well executed at all. Definitely not convincing…

But some of the themes were interesting. The movie wasn’t just about promoting tolerance, and it didn’t just talk about how Islam ISN’T bad. It addressed the flaws of all religions. Furthermore, based on the ending of the movie, I’ve concluded that they didn’t mean for it to be about acceptance so much as about finding your own faith in your own way, not just because of what your family believes or anything like that. It was an interesting take on a somewhat worn out storyline.

I know a few of the people I saw it with were disappointed. They found the end unsatisfying because it doesn’t totally resolve all the issues. I think they missed the point because it wasn’t about solving the religion-conflict in America. How can a movie realistically do that when it hasn’t actually happened yet? The movie was about this one man trying to figure out who he was and what he believed in. It was about college opening your eyes and mind to new ideas, and I thought they tackled that goal pretty well. And as I said, the cinematography was really interesting and fun to watch, so even if you decide that you don’t like the storyline, it’s still worth a watch.

Leave a Reply

